Gmail’s brand new web mail system includes a feature called Confidential mode, which will place an expiration date on a sent message. This is very helpful if you would like to send sensitive or personal information without the risk of having it sit indefinitely in someone’s inbox and vulnerable to access by unauthorized parties.
How to Use
Sending a confidential email is quite simple. First, you will need to be using Gmail via a web browser such as Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, or Mozilla Firefox. Log into Gmail and click the settings gear in the upper right corner, then click “Try the new Gmail”. Gmail will reload in the new version. Compose a new message, and at the bottom of the compose window you will see an icon that looks like a padlock with a clock:
Click on this, and the confidential mode window will open. Set the expiration time, and whether or not to require an SMS passcode. An SMS message is a text message that is sent to the recipient’s cellphone for identity verification when they click on the emailed link to view the confidential message. To use this option, you will need to know the cellphone number of the recipient in advance when sending the message. Otherwise select “No SMS passcode” and the verification code will be sent to the recipient via email (unless they are using Gmail web mail themselves, then the message will simply open, or if they are accessing Gmail via a different email client, require sign in with their Google credentials to view the message).
Click Save, and when ready, send the message. A confidential message link will be sent to the recipient which will remain valid until the expiration date. That’s all there is to it!